top of page

Earthly Vibes (Behind the Veil and The Last Shipment prt 2)


Happy Friday, and welcome back to Earthly Vibes. We’re going to keep story time going with another short tale, enjoy!

Behind the Veil and Last Shipment Continuation

I arrived at little past 4 am at the Fuzzy Kitten when I found him covered in blood, his face looked like a squished tomato. Whoever got to him, really had done a number on him. This dude was unrecognizable.

I noticed the .22 revolver at his side, “Guess that didn’t help.” I thought. No wonder he needed help. I barely lifted his 200lb build in my small Sebring convertible. He moaned in pain as I sat him up in the front seat.

“Good to see you're still alive, my name is Scarlet, I’m here to help.”

We arrived moments later back at my apartment, I tried to lay him on the couch as gently as I could but ended up tripping over my mound of books. Luckily, he landed perfectly on the couch while I tumbled like a bowling ball onto the floor. Now was a good time as any for a house call. I went through my phone for my personal doctor/healer. He answered on the first ring.

“Hey, Winter I need a favor. No, I’m fine but there is someone here that needs your help.”

Seconds later there was a knock at my door. I opened it to see Winter with his medical bag. His charcoal skin was without wrinkles even though his knowledge was timeless. A long-curved bone pierced his nose as his face held a stern expression. His long frost hair matched his chilling personality and intricate tattoos. He was definitely one of a kind.

“You’re late.” I teased, opening my door wide.

“Nice to see you again flower, where is the patient?” He asked, tone less than pleasant. I pointed to the bloody stranger on my couch.

“Is he alive?” He asked before touching him.

“Duh, if he was dead, I think I would know.” I neatly stacked my mess to give him more room to work.

Winter was a witch doctor and medicine man from Papa New Guinea. I met him about 10 years ago when I first started believing in shades. I was going through a rebellious stage, damn God and what not when two dumbasses cornered me in an alley way. I dabbled in a little bit of witch craft, so with a few magic words I turned them into stone, on accident of course. But my spell back fired, when my clumsy ass tripped over a trash can and blasted myself in the face with my own magic. That’s when he found me, frozen in the gutter. It’s quite funny now that I think about it. He reversed the spell using his own form of magic but left my attackers crumbled to pieces. He gave me his number and I still call him every time I needed a tune up. Till this day he won’t tell me his name, so I call him Winter for obvious reason.

“Thanks a lot, Winter, I owe you one.” I thanked him as he packed away his healing crystals.

“No thanks needed, good to see you following your gift.”

“Yea, yea. I’m still sore from what happened.”

“A lesson learned.”

“I thought we agreed never to bring that up! Now, have you heard something on the other side of the veil about the missing people? And what exactly am I’m supposed to do with Texas Ranger over here.”

“I don’t know, your path is for you to walk.” He said as he tipped his head.

“That’s bullshit, but okay let me know if you hear anything.” I shrugged.

“I will bright flower be well, and beware of men of good intentions who come with good promises.”

“So, you are holding out on me.” I pointed out in excitement. Just like that he turned into smoke and puffed out the hallway.

“I hate it when he does that.” I peeked my head back into my apartment to see armed and dangerous coming too. Now that he was all healed, I could finally see what he looked like. His sandy brown dreads hung past his shoulder, contrasting against his dark chocolate complexion. I stepped forward to inspect him more thoroughly when he looked opened his eyes.

“Who the hell are you, and where is my bag.” He pulled out his gun, not knowing I had taken the bullets out.

“Get over yourself, your bag is right there.” I went to the closet to grab his navy-blue backpack.

“A reward would be nice.” I joked as I threw him his bag full of drug money. “But I think you have bigger problems on your hands.”

“Thank god.” He prayed as he counted his stash.

“We need to find the people that did this to you.”

“Don’t you think I know that. And It’s none of your business so back the fuck up.”

“Well, fuck you too.” I flashed him the middle finger. “But like I told you before, I’m here to help you.”

“Why?” He squinted those gorgeous brown eyes.

“Hell, if I know, some guy in a suit and briefcase told me to help you.” I learned the hard way that terrible things happened when I ignored my gift, people get hurt.

“Well, I have a few stops to make.” He said as he stood up on his own.

“Fine by me, just give me some gas money and we can go.” I held out my hand to see him smirk in return.

“No, I’m serious.”

Did you enjoy that? If so, stay tuned to Earthly Vibes every Friday at www.redinkpub.ga, for more short stories, continuations, and more.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page