top of page

Solar Eclipse


Hello Loves, and welcome to another Inside the Nation blog. Today, in honor of the solar eclipse, I thought I’d give you all a little history on how our ancestors viewed it and the myths that come with it. I did not get to experience it in its totality, but it did get a bit dark in my neck of the woods and the ring was a bit visible. I hope most of you got to enjoy it! Here is what I found out about this phenomenal occurrence.

The Pomo, an indigenous group of people who live in the Northwestern part of the U.S., tell of a bear who started a fight with the Sun and took a bite out of it. And that explained the solar eclipse.

Another myth I found was of the ancient Greeks that believed that the solar eclipse was a sign of angry Gods and that it was the beginning of disasters and destruction.

One of my favorite, however, was of the Tewa, from New Mexico, that believed that the eclipse was an angry Sun that left the sky to return to his home in the underworld.

No matter what you believe, we can all agree that it is a miraculous event that is a beauty to behold. I really hope you all got a chance to see and enjoy it to its fullest. If you have any cool myths you’d like to share, please feel free to leave them in the contact section. As always, I wish you, Happy Reading!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page